Go Back   Singapore Web Hosting Talk > LEARNING CENTER > Others

Others Other guides/howtos.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-12-2006, 10:36   #1
iDeBuggers
SGWHT Senior Member
 
Join Date: 16-07-2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 462
iDeBuggers has a spectacular aura aboutiDeBuggers has a spectacular aura about
Speed Up Your FireFox

Hi guysesomething which I learn from other forum which I will like to share here.

Quote:
1. Type "about:config" into the address bar and hit enter. Scroll down and look for the following entries:

2. Alter the entries as follows:

Set "network.http.pipelining" to "true"
Set "network.http.proxy.pipelining" to "true"

set "network.http.pipelining.maxrequests" to some number like 30. This means it will make 30 requests at once.

3. Lastly right-click anywhere and select New-> Integer. Name it "nglayout.initialpaint.delay" and set its value to "0". This value is the amount of time the browser waits before it acts on information it recieves.

4. browser.tabs.showSingleWindowModePrefs to true
5. network.http.max-connections to 100
6. network.http.max-connections-per-server to 64
This will improve your Firefoz performance however take up your resources more. Pros and Cons Have fun and let me know if it helps.
__________________
iDeBuggers Network :: Custom Application Development, SMS Solutions, Singapore Premium Web Hosting and Domain Registration
iDeBuggers is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-12-2006, 16:39   #2
alien
SGWHT Senior Member
 
alien's Avatar
 
Join Date: 18-03-2003
Location: .sg/.au
Posts: 551
alien is on a distinguished road
Or you can simply use Fasterfox (http://fasterfox.mozdev.org/)..
alien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 17:17   #3
RealiX
SGWHT Newbie
 
Join Date: 15-04-2006
Posts: 291
RealiX is on a distinguished road
i think i did all these before but i cant see any significant changes..
think its still down to your pc specs and your isp connection.
__________________
RealiX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2006, 15:33   #4
iDeBuggers
SGWHT Senior Member
 
Join Date: 16-07-2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 462
iDeBuggers has a spectacular aura aboutiDeBuggers has a spectacular aura about
Hmm for me I did the changes and found that speed wise only increase when i open 1 tab and once I open more than one tabs the changes does not seem to have any effect at all and my laptop slow down pretty much.

Anyone know which is the property to change in order for the changes to be spread to more than 1 tabs?
__________________
iDeBuggers Network :: Custom Application Development, SMS Solutions, Singapore Premium Web Hosting and Domain Registration
iDeBuggers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2006, 18:43   #5
The Dude
SGWHT Veteran Member
 
Join Date: 07-02-2003
Posts: 741
The Dude is on a distinguished road
If you set the options with "about:config" it should hold for EVERY TAB...

What options do you have in your "Firefox options"?? (I dont use it just trying to help)
The Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 16:53   #6
LobangKing
SGWHT Newbie
 
Join Date: 04-01-2007
Posts: 29
LobangKing is on a distinguished road
with the new firefox 2.0
you don't need to use this tweak..
i think it's already tweaked..
LobangKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2007, 01:36   #7
comforthost
SGWHT Newbie
 
Join Date: 22-01-2007
Posts: 8
comforthost is on a distinguished road
firetune for firefox is also works..
__________________
Welcome Home | COMFORTHOST.NET
comforthost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2016, 09:06   #8
The Dude
SGWHT Veteran Member
 
Join Date: 07-02-2003
Posts: 741
The Dude is on a distinguished road
In 2004 I found a thread on another VBB site im on where someone posted tips on how to make firefox faster..... But they said to make it 48 for max connections.......

Im on IE6 (MyIE2 on front) and I tried it on my browser..... MAN IT MADE A BIG DIFFERENCE ON MINE TOO!!!! (Default IE6 setting is 2 for max connections/max per server)

Actually I think 20 is the MAX CONENCTIONS any server will allow isnt it?? (So really setting to 48 or 64 wont have any better effect than setting it to 20? -- I dunno)


Quote:
Originally Posted by alien
Or you can simply use Fasterfox (http://fasterfox.mozdev.org/)..
You had an extra ")" @ the end of that link which made it not work.....

Correct link: http://fasterfox.mozdev.org

Ah man!!
The Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +8. The time now is 13:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright (C) 2002-2015 Brought to you by Singapore Web Hosting Talk (SGWHT). All Rights Reserved.