Go Back   Singapore Web Hosting Talk > LEARNING CENTER > Others

Others Other guides/howtos.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-08-2007, 14:42   #1
syed
SGWHT Veteran Member
 
Join Date: 08-04-2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 732
syed is on a distinguished road
Connecting to MySQL Database using virtual basics

Hi All,

I am stuck at a part where i have to connect to mysql server using virtual basics

What information should i put in:

stored connection: ?
ServerHost: ? my domain name??
Username: Username for the webhosting account or for the sql database?
Password: password for the webhosting account or for the sql database??
and port?? What port is this?? SSL port for D.A or port for sql server???

Needs assistance
syed is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-08-2007, 15:45   #2
tanfwc
SGWHT Premium Member
 
Join Date: 12-12-2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,350
tanfwc has a spectacular aura abouttanfwc has a spectacular aura abouttanfwc has a spectacular aura about
You mean Visual Basic?

If so, I think you need to use ODBC.

Server Host : localhost
Username : registered user permitted to connect to the database
Password : same as username
Port : 3306
__________________
tanfwc
tanfwc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 01:07   #3
syed
SGWHT Veteran Member
 
Join Date: 08-04-2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 732
syed is on a distinguished road
Oopsss , did i just say virtual basics? lol yes.. it's visual basic.. lol.. in a hurry... ermm.. ODBC,... is that to be installed on my pc or on the server itself??

Btw thanks tan for replying.
syed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 01:43   #4
tanfwc
SGWHT Premium Member
 
Join Date: 12-12-2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,350
tanfwc has a spectacular aura abouttanfwc has a spectacular aura abouttanfwc has a spectacular aura about
If you are using Windows XP, you have ODBC installed as default. On the server side, you don't have to worry as well, ODBC is installed as default.
__________________
tanfwc
tanfwc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 09:19   #5
syed
SGWHT Veteran Member
 
Join Date: 08-04-2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 732
syed is on a distinguished road
OOppps.. i am using vista on my hand, lol, my xp hdd got fried when my aircon dripped water on my cpu -_- ....

btw, i found the problem already, due to safemode mysql the port changed to 0, have any idea where i can change it back to the default port??

Have tried to google and found a guide for linux however dosen't work

[getmemydea@ns1 tmp]$ cd /tmp/mysql.sock
-bash: cd: /tmp/mysql.sock: No such file or directory

I am using centos 4.0

Any ideas guys??

Btw thanks a million Tan.
syed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 10:06   #6
Oops!
SGWHT Veteran Member
 
Join Date: 23-12-2005
Posts: 1,325
Oops! will become famous soon enough
That is only the socket file.

You should have looked at these.
/etc/my.cnf

If you have DirectAdmin on the server, look at these.
/etc/services
/usr/local/directadmin/conf/mysql.conf

Different servers may have different setup. You should google more.
Oops! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 10:21   #7
tanfwc
SGWHT Premium Member
 
Join Date: 12-12-2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,350
tanfwc has a spectacular aura abouttanfwc has a spectacular aura abouttanfwc has a spectacular aura about
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxhub
OOppps.. i am using vista on my hand, lol, my xp hdd got fried when my aircon dripped water on my cpu -_- ....

btw, i found the problem already, due to safemode mysql the port changed to 0, have any idea where i can change it back to the default port??

Have tried to google and found a guide for linux however dosen't work

[getmemydea@ns1 tmp]$ cd /tmp/mysql.sock
-bash: cd: /tmp/mysql.sock: No such file or directory

I am using centos 4.0

Any ideas guys??

Btw thanks a million Tan.
You are most welcome!

Wait, you are getting me confused. Visual Basic only works in Windows but why are you trying to put Linux in the picture?

ODBC will do all the talking to the MySQL. If it is a local MySQL, you do not need to specific the port because ODBC will be smart enough to locate.
__________________
tanfwc
tanfwc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 13:40   #8
syed
SGWHT Veteran Member
 
Join Date: 08-04-2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 732
syed is on a distinguished road
Hi Tan,

sorry for confusing,...
i am connecting to my core server using my vista and i am using visual basics to communicate with it, however i checked in phpmyadmin and found that port is changed to port 0, is there any way i can change it back, i still remember this happened becos i set up the mysql safemode mod.

Thanks and regards,
syed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 13:45   #9
tanfwc
SGWHT Premium Member
 
Join Date: 12-12-2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,350
tanfwc has a spectacular aura abouttanfwc has a spectacular aura abouttanfwc has a spectacular aura about
I believe your core server is using linux. If so, please post the my.cnf file here or PM me (if you are not comfortable).
__________________
tanfwc
tanfwc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 13:58   #10
syed
SGWHT Veteran Member
 
Join Date: 08-04-2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 732
syed is on a distinguished road
pm sent. Thanks a million tan...
syed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 14:03   #11
tanfwc
SGWHT Premium Member
 
Join Date: 12-12-2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,350
tanfwc has a spectacular aura abouttanfwc has a spectacular aura abouttanfwc has a spectacular aura about
most welcome!

remove skip-networking so that you can remotely connect to your MySQL and make sure that your port 3306 is open at your firewall
__________________
tanfwc
tanfwc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 14:16   #12
syed
SGWHT Veteran Member
 
Join Date: 08-04-2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 732
syed is on a distinguished road
LOL , I WAS PLAIN STOOPID,... I TRIED TO EDIT MY.CNF USING USER lol.. finally woke up from my slumber and login as root to do it

LOl..

and.. btw tan.. this firewall you are talking about is it on the server side or on the pc side??
and .. the phpmyadmin set as 0? ignore that as well??
syed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 15:45   #13
tanfwc
SGWHT Premium Member
 
Join Date: 12-12-2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,350
tanfwc has a spectacular aura abouttanfwc has a spectacular aura abouttanfwc has a spectacular aura about
Hehe, you must be too tired while editing it

Well, both ends will have to unblock.
__________________
tanfwc
tanfwc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +8. The time now is 13:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright (C) 2002-2015 Brought to you by Singapore Web Hosting Talk (SGWHT). All Rights Reserved.